From: The Honorable Jim Costa
Sent By:
Date: 3/22/2017


Deadline: COB on March 31, 2017

Dear Colleague:

Please join us in requesting continued support of the Community Service Block Grant (CSBG) program, an initiative that provides critical assistance to local efforts aimed at reducing poverty and expanding economic opportunity for all. Specifically, this bipartisan letter requests level funding ($714.9 million) for the program to maintain the federal commitment to targeted, innovative approaches to improving economic conditions.

More than 1,100 Community Action Agencies across the nation offer services every year in 99 percent of U.S. counties to 16 million low-income individuals, primarily members of working families and seniors. These agencies are partnerships of local leaders, private sector interests, and low-income representatives aimed at helping at-risk populations achieve financial independence.

90 percent of CSBG funds go directly to local communities to provide critical services such as child care, job training, housing and financial education that improve self-sufficiency. The tremendous results of these programs not only pull countless individuals out of poverty, but also allow local organizations to leverage nearly $2.30 in private capital from every federal dollar invested in CSBG.

Please join us in requesting that $714.9 million in level funding for the Community Service Block Grant be included in the FY18 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies bill. To sign on this letter, please contact Scott Petersen in Congressman Costa’s office (; x53341) or Charlotte Pineda in Congressman Fitzpatrick’s office (; x54276) by COB on March 31, 2017. Thank you for your consideration of this request.


JIM COSTA                                                                                        BRIAN FITZPATRICK
Member of Congress                                                                        Member of Congress


Dear Chairman Cole and Ranking Member DeLauro:

As the Subcommittee begins the arduous task of preparing the Fiscal Year 2018 Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education Appropriations Bill, we respectfully request the Committee pay particular attention to funding for the Community Services Block Grant (CSBG). We recognize and thank the Committee for its longstanding support for CSBG funding. We also recognize the incredible demand placed upon the Committee for program funding. With these difficulties in mind, we respectfully request funding for CSBG be no lower than the annualized FY2017 level of $714.9 million.

As the Committee’s past support indicates the Community Services Block Grant is a unique and valuable resource that enables local communities to address poverty and economic insecurity in innovative ways. Annually, some 16 million of our most vulnerable citizens receive a hand-up through their CSBG-funded agency. This simply would not be possible absent CSBG funding.

More than 1,100 Community Action Agencies nationwide use their CSBG funding to allow local elected officials, the private sector, and representatives of the low-income community to develop unique, locally driven responses to circumstances surrounding poverty in their particular community. Each CSBG dollar then leverages nearly $2.30 in private, non-governmental funds.

We believe strongly that CSBG funding gives our local communities a valuable weapon in the fight to reduce poverty, one of our nation’s most daunting economic challenges. We thank you for your leadership and consideration of this request on behalf of the Community Services Block Grant.


JIM COSTA                                                                                       BRIAN FITZPATRICK
Member of Congress                                                                         Member of Congress




What Should I do?

The deadline for collecting signatures is this Friday, March 31. Please contact your Congressional representative's D.C. office and ask them to sign on to the Costa/Fitzpatrick CSBG Dear Colleague letter.

If your member is a Republican, have them contact Representative Brian Fitzpatrick's office: Charlotte Pineda - (202) 225-4276 -

If your member is a Democrat, have them contact Representative Jim Costa's office: Scott Petersen - (202) 225-3341 -


If you are unsure of who your U.S. representative is, or need to find the phone number for their Washington, D.C. office - CLICK HERE and enter your zip code.


What is a Dear Colleague letter?

A Dear Colleague is a letter circulated (passed around) by House members directed towards the Appropriations Committee recommending a certain funding level for a certain program. In this case, Congressmen Costa and Fitzpatrick are circulating a letter in the House that will be sent to the House Labor-HHS Appropriations subcommittee recommending CSBG funding not be cut in the upcoming year.


Those who have signed on through 3/30/2017

Rep. Lou Barletta

Rep. Joyce Beatty

Rep. Don Beyer

Rep. Earl Blumenaur

Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester

Rep. Suzanne Bonamici

Rep. Julia Brownley

Rep. Michael Capuano

Rep. Tony Cardenas

Rep. Andre Carson

Rep. Matt Cartwright

Rep. David Cicilline

Rep. Katherine Clark

Rep. Yvette Clarke

Rep. Wm. Lacy Clay

Rep. Gerry Connolly

Rep. John Conyers

Rep. Jim Costa

Rep. Joe Courtney

Rep. Elijah Cummings

Rep. Danny K. Davis

Rep. Peter DeFazio

Rep. John Delaney

Rep. Val Demmings

Rep. Mark DeSaulnier

Rep. Ted Deutch

Rep. Debbie Dingell

Rep. Mike Doyle

Rep. Keith Ellison

Rep. Anna Eshoo

Rep. Elizabeth Esty

Rep. John Faso

Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick

Rep. Bill Foster

Rep. Marcia Fudge

Rep. Tulsi Gabbard

Rep. Ruben Gallego

Rep. John Garamendi

Rep. Bob Goodlatte

Rep. Vicente Gonzalez

Rep. Al Green

Rep. Raul Grijalva

Rep. Luis Gutierrez

Rep. Colleen Hanabusa

Rep. Alcee Hastings

Rep. Brian Higgins

Rep. Jim Himes

Rep. Jared Huffman

Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee

Rep. Bill Keating

Rep. Mike Kelly

Rep. Robin Kelly

Rep. Joe Kennedy

Rep. Ron Kind

Rep. Ann McLane Kuster

Rep. Jim Langevin

Rep. John Larson

Rep. Sander Levin

Rep. John Lewis

Rep. Frank A. Lobiondo

Rep. Dave Loebsack

Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham

Rep. Stephen Lynch

Rep. Doris Matsui

Rep. Betty McCollum

Rep. Donald A. McEachin

Rep. Jim McGovern

Rep. Gregory Meeks

Rep. Gwen Moore

Rep. Jerry Nadler

Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton

Rep. Tom O'Halleran

Rep. Frank Pallone

Rep. Bill Pascrell

Rep. Donald Payne

Rep. Scott Peters

Rep. Collin Peterson

Rep. Chellie Pingree

Rep. Mark Pocan

Rep. Bruce Poliquin

Rep. Raul Ruiz

Rep. Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan

Rep. Linda Sanchez

Rep Jan Schackowsky 

Rep. Adam Schiff

Rep. Bobby Scott

Rep. David Scott

Rep. Terri Sewell

Rep. Carol Shea-Porter

Rep. Louise Slaughter

Rep. Albio Sires

Rep. Mark Takano

Rep. Claudia Tenney

Rep. GT Thompson

Rep. Mike Thompson

Rep. Paul Tonko

Rep. Niki Tsongas

Rep. Juan Vargas

Rep. Marc A. Veasey

Rep. Filemon Vela

Rep. Maxine Waters

Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman

Rep. Peter Welch

Rep. Frederica Wilson

Rep. John Yarmuth

Rep. Don Young

Name *