Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

April 30, 2024

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chair Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations H-307 The Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations 1036 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chair Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro:

As the Subcommittee begins the challenging task of preparing the FY2025 appropriations bill, we respectfully request that you support funding of \$800 million for the Community Service Block Grant (CSBG). CSBG provides core funding for the nationwide network of more than 1,000 local Community Action Agencies (CAAs). This modest increase from current levels is critical to enable these agencies to sustain their vitally important work for America's low-income families. We also request that you include language in the FY2025 bill that continues the essential current policy of allowing CAAs to serve households with incomes of up to 200% of the poverty line.

Located in virtually every American county, these primarily nonprofit agencies are an integral part of local efforts to reduce poverty, help people become self-sufficient and revitalize communities. Moreover, the Community Action network stands ready to give immediate help whenever a crisis or unforeseen event upends the lives of low-income people and communities.

For 60 years, Community Action Agencies have worked to address the causes and conditions of poverty by administering a full range of comprehensive, coordinated programs. These agencies serve an estimated 10 million low-income people each year, in 5 million families, helping them gain useful skills, access new opportunities and achieve financial independence. CAAs provide a critical "first stop" for those in need and help our constituents navigate resources in the broader community, including intervention for homeless veterans, emergency food assistance and job training. CAAs serve our seniors and citizens with disabilities by connecting them to services that allow them to maintain their independence. They see and respond to emerging needs, such as the opioid crisis and the devastating impact of fentanyl on overdose rates in our communities.

As a uniquely flexible source of funds, CSBG allows CAAs to address their community needs through building partnerships and investing in the creation of opportunities especially suited to local conditions and the unique circumstances of low-income citizens. Moreover, CSBG funds assist CAAs in attracting non-federal resources; for every \$1 of federal CSBG funding, CAAs are able to leverage nearly \$5 from state, local and private sources.

In 2020, Congress recognized the need to increase CSBG eligibility criteria from 100% (or 125% at state option) to 200% of poverty and has continued this policy in all subsequent appropriations laws. This increased eligibility has enabled CAAs to stabilize fragile families, mitigate the impact of arbitrary benefit cliffs and help working households in crisis avoid a permanent fall into poverty. Almost all states have adopted this eligibility level and, in 2022, the full House voted on a bipartisan basis to reauthorize CSBG and to make this policy permanent. We urge you to maintain language in the FY2025 appropriations law to continue this policy, made even more necessary by the ongoing impact of inflation.

Recognizing the challenges facing the Subcommittee this budget year, we submit this modest request to fund CSBG at \$800 million and to continue eligibility at 200% of poverty. Since the inception of CSBG in 1981, the House Labor-HHS-ED Appropriations Subcommittee has been its most valuable partner in providing the resources necessary to meet the needs of low-income families and communities. Your support and faith in the work of Community Action, made possible by flexible CSBG funds, has helped changed the lives of millions of families in thousands of American communities. We thank you for your leadership and consideration of this request on behalf of the Community Services Block Grant.

Sincerely,

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick
Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici

Member of Congress

John B. Larson

Member of Congress

Lucy McBath

Member of Congress

ia MeBat

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.

William R. Keating
Member of Congress

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan

Member of Congress

Mary Sattler Peltola Member of Congress

hay Sather Peltola

Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Danny K. Qavis Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal
Member of Congress

10.CLL

Jim Himes

Lori Trolon

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

rared Golden
Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Steven Horsford

Member of Congress

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas
Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress **Eleanor Holmes Norton**

Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Chell R

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

James P. Me I James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Gabe Amo

Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Adam Smith

Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Mika Thompson

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Frank J. Mrvan Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Jil Tokuda Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Marie Gluesenkap Perez Member of Congress

Janamenh.

John Garamendi Member of Congress Oreg Landsman Member of Congress

Jake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Dina Titus