

## The Community Services Block Grant: "Small States"

Under current law, the Community Services Block Grant provides that each state receives at least a minimum allotment of ½ of 1% of the amount appropriated for the Community Services Block Grant Act in years when the amount available for states, after certain set-asides are made, exceeds \$345 million. The \$345 million threshold was reached beginning in 1991. Thus, in each year since 1991, states have been guaranteed a minimum allotment of ½ of 1% of CSBG appropriations.

This provision is typically referred to as the "small-state minimum" and under current law applies to 12 states:

New Hampshire
North Dakota
South Dakota
Utah
Vermont
Wyoming

The CSBG legislation that passed the House of Representatives in the 117th Congress, would maintain the small-state minimum at  $\frac{1}{2}$  of 1% but would raise it in years when the amount available for states, after set-asides, exceeds \$900 million. In such years, states would be guaranteed a minimum allotment of  $\frac{3}{4}$  of 1% of CSBG appropriations remaining after set-asides are made. In addition to the 12 states now covered the increased minimum would apply to *Maine*, *Nebraska*, *New Mexico* and *Rhode Island*.

400 N Capitol St NW, Ste 780 Washington, DC 20001 ncaf.org (202) 842-2092